Leave a comment

Pee Wee on Broadway?

I don’t usually post non-KELT related material, but I thought that his story out of New York was pretty cool.  Pee Wee Herman was a character played by an American actor named Paul Reubens.  He started out playing Pee Wee as a stand up comedian character, and then Pee Wee started making appearances on talk shows, and game shows.  Finally, Pee Wee had his own movie when I was in high school, “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure” (directed by Tim Burton of all people), which I absolutely loved.

When I was in university, Pee Wee came out with a kid’s TV show, which I would catch as often as I could, even though I was in university.  I just really loved his silly sense of humor.

Unfortunately, Paul Reubens had a public relations disaster at the height of his popularity when he was arrested for indecent exposure at an adult movie theater in Florida.  Not a great move for an actor who is trying to appeal to children.  Needless to say, Reubens disappeared off the entertainment radar for several years.

Well, now, he is apparently back.  Here’s the story from the New York Times:

The Pee-wee Herman Show,” the original stage comedy that set that manic man-child character portrayed by Paul Reubens on a path to cult stardom, will transfer to Broadway in the fall for a six-week run, its producers announced on Thursday. Though Mr. Reubens, right, 57, is generally much more low-key than his impish, bow-tie-clad alter ego, his impending date with Broadway stirred a little Pee-wee style exuberance within him. “I can hardly believe it,” he said Wednesday evening in a telephone interview. “Honestly, I’ve been pinching myself.” In January, Mr. Reubens revived “The Pee-wee Herman Show” at Club Nokia at L.A. Live in Los Angeles, the first time in several years that he had played the character for a sustained period. In New York, “The Pee-wee Herman Show” is scheduled to begin performances on Oct. 26 at the Stephen Sondheim Theater (the rechristened Henry Miller’s Theater).

I would love to go see this show!  And even though Reubens had his problems, he is a brilliant and unique comedian, and I’m glad to see that he’s getting another shot.

I do wonder if he might not be getting a bit too old to play Pee Wee.  I saw a short clip he made for Funny or Die, and I found that he seemed a bit too tired to play the manic Pee Wee.  Now, with this new stage show, the question is – will it work, and maybe another Pee Wee movie will come sooner or later, or will it just seem… wierd and creepy?

Leave a Reply

